Who We are

     AFCEA Hawaii Educational Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, is committed to support Hawaii students and teachers by providing scholarships, grants and awards. Prior to the formation of the Foundation, AFCEA Hawaii has awarded nearly $300,000 in the last three years and over $500,000 in its history to enhance learning and education initiatives.

     The AFCEA Hawaii Educational Foundation works together with the AFCEA Hawaii membership and the community at large, both private, public and academia, to increase the investment in education in Hawaii. The Foundation seeks to establish Hawaii partnerships that positively impact education. These partnerships will include government, corporate and civilian members and supporters, AFCEA members, STEM educators, college students and universities.

     Education is an AFCEA Core Value. Collectively, AFCEA International, the AFCEA Educational Foundation Chapters, and AFCEA Chapters invest approximately $2 million in scholarships to military veterans, ROTC students, and STEM students and teachers.


Through the AFCEA Educational Foundation’s support of education, scholarships, grants and STEM programs, we will inspire and motivate the young men and women of Hawaii, service men and women, veterans and Wounded Warriors and their families to pursue their education.

The Charter of the AFCEA Educational Foundation is to support Hawaii based students and adults in their continued education in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (STEM), Cyber and Electronics.

Our responsibility is to bring together the community to mentor and coach students and grow the next generation of technologists, scientists, engineers, and cyber patriots.



The AFCEA Hawai'i Educational Foundation logo is often recognized as an offering or a gift.  It is a physical contribution of an individual or group request for acknowledgment from a source.  Ho`okupu is used to ensure growth, increase mana(knowledge) or cause to sprout.

Our Board

Foundation Chair

Linda Newton



Moune Tabalno 


Van McCrea 

Scholarship Chairperson

Matt Darnell

Foundation Senior Executive

Admiral Richard Macke (Ret) – 

Additional Board Members

Farrah Burke
Dr. Mary Smith
Steve Tatum 
Brandon Lester
Adria Fung
Kelly Egelhoff
Sanford Ching
ReShonda McKee
Mike Possedi
Steven Kane
Kelly Ann Chun
Contact Us